A former Antarctic explorer, a leading expert in early education for sustainability and one of New Zealand’s most highly regarded early learning professionals are just some of the impressive bios headlining G8 Education’s 2023 National Conference this week.

G8 Education has welcomed around 500 of its centre leaders and around centre support teams to the Gold Coast for its Belong, Inspire, Transform conference.

“I am delighted that we can once again bring together all of our centre leaders for this year’s conference,” said Pejman Okhovat, G8 Education CEO.

“It’s great to have the opportunity to learn alongside each other, to be inspired by amazing ideas and feel empowered as early learning professionals as we reflect on what it means to Belong, Inspire and Transform with G8 Education.”

The three-day conference will see G8’s leaders engage in collaborative sessions around leadership, inclusion, reconciliation and quality.

Arguably one of the most anticipated agenda items is a panel discussion on the updates to the Early Years Learning Framework hosted by G8 Education’s Head of Early Learning and Education Ali Evans.

Aunty Denise Proud of Reconciliation Queensland, Queensland University of Technology’s Dr Lyndal O’Gorman and Professor Julie Davis, Sarah Callinan from La Trobe University, and Belle Cusack, our Centre Manager of Kindy Patch Emma’s are expected to share their thoughts on how the changes will transform early learning in Australia.

Teams will also be inspired by the tales of Rachael Robertson, one of the youngest ever Australians to lead a scientific expedition to Antarctica, as she speaks of leadership, teamwork and resilience.

A keynote address will also be delivered by Toni Christie, Director of Childspace Early Childhood Institute in New Zealand.

This is a continuation of G8 Education’s partnership with Childspace after Toni and her team hosted a cohort of G8 Education team members on a study tour last year.

2022 Centre Manager Award winners were amongst the study tour participants and 2023 Award winners – to be announced at the conference – will also be offered the chance to join this year’s study tour.