Mark G. Johnson – BComm, FCA, CPA, FAICD

Non-Executive Chair

Mark G JohnsonMark was appointed a director and Chairman of the Board of Directors on 1 January 2016. He is currently a Director of Westfield Corporation, the Hospitals Contribution Fund of Australia (HCF) and HSBC Bank Australia. He is also a director and Chairman of MH Premium Farms Holdings and Chairs the Advisory Board of Willis Australasia.

He served as CEO and Asian Deputy Chair of PwC for 4 years and retired in July 2012 after more than 30 years of service. Prior to becoming CEO, he held a number of leadership positions in PwC Australia. In these roles he served on a number of global firm committees. 

Mark’s current community appointments include The Smith Family, St Aloysius College Council Inc. (and its Foundation) and the Advisory Council to the UNSW Australia School of Business.

Previously, he was a member of the Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board, was a member of the Business Council of Australia and was Deputy Chair of the Finance and Reporting Committee of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mark is Chairman of G8 Education’s Nomination Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee and Remuneration Committee.


Chris Scott – B.Econ. (Hons)

Executive Director

Chris ScottChris graduated with first class honours in Economics from Latrobe University in Melbourne. He was awarded the DM Myers University Medal in 1977.

Chris has over 23 years experience in senior management positions. He relocated to Singapore in 1978 and established a road transport business (Road Express Pte Ltd) which provided refrigerated freight services from Southern Thailand to Singapore and overnight cargo express services from Singapore to Malaysia. Chris sold his share in the business to Malaysian interests in 1987.

Chris then set up American Freight Services Pte Ltd. The company was an inbound handling and marketing agent for Brennan International Transport Inc which (by 1995) had become the second largest outbound seafreight consolidator in the USA. This business was sold to Brennan International in 1998.

Chris Scott was the founder of the S8 Group (now part of Stella Travel Services). Chris is a ‘hands on’ manager. His operational, analytical and strategic skills were critical in the selection of potential acquisitions which met the criteria to ensure the profitable expansion of the S8 Group.

Chris is a member of G8 Education’s Nomination Committee.


Gary Carroll

Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer

Gary-CarrollGary joined the Group in July 2016 and has extensive senior leadership experience in both financial and operational roles covering various industries.

He holds Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) and Bachelor of Law (Honours) degrees and is a Certified Practising Accountant.


Brian Bailison – B.Com., B.Acc (Cum Laude), ACA

Non Executive Director

Brian BailisonBrian has over 15 years experience in finance, corporate finance and operations from senior roles in listed and unlisted businesses in South Africa and Australia, including senior positions at Rand Merchant Bank Limited (South Africa’s largest banc-assurance business), the Ivany Investment Group (diversified investment group) and Payce Consolidated Limited (diversified property group).

Brian holds Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Accounting (Cum Laude) degrees from the University of Witwatersrand and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia.

Brian is Chairman of G8 Education’s Audit and Risk Management Committee and member of the Nomination Committee.


Susan Forrester – BA, LLB(Hons) EMBA, FAICD

Non Executive Director

Susan_ForresterSusan is an accomplished, professional company chair and director with a background in law, business and corporate governance. She held executive management roles in corporate treasury and professional services firms for more than 20 years.

In 2015, Susan served on 3 boards which undertook successful IPOs and listing on the ASX (NVL, OTW and XIP). Her current portfolio encompasses 4 ASX listed companies including G8 Education, as well as UnitingCare Qld and South Bank Corporation.

Susan’s expertise at the board table encompasses strategy, governance within fast growing companies and oversight of large complex transactions.

Susan is a Fellow of the AICD.

Susan is Chair of G8 Education’s Remuneration Committee and member of the Nomination Committee.


Matthew Reynolds

Non Executive Director

Matthew-ReynoldsMatthew specialises in capital markets (retail and wholesale), debt capital markets (wholesale) and mergers and acquisitions (public and private) including private equity.

Matthew principally practices in the agriculture, resources, technology, infrastructure, construction and manufacturing sectors.

Matthew holds a Bachelor of Political Science & Economics (Hons) and a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and is a member of both the Queensland Law Society and Company Law Committee, Queensland Law Society.

Matthew currently occupies several Board roles relevant to the sectors in which he provides legal services and presents regularly at legal seminars and periodically at legal seminars in China principally on capital markets.

Matthew is a member of G8 Education’s Nomination Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.


David Foster – B.App.Sci, MBA, GAICD, SFFin

Non Executive Director

David-FosterDavid Foster was appointed by the Board as a non-executive director on 1 February 2016. David has had an extensive career in financial services spanning over 25 years.

For a five year period from 2008, David Foster was chief executive officer of Suncorp Bank, Australia’s fifth largest listed bank and the country’s only “A+” rated regional bank. This period included recovery from the global financial crisis and taking the bank to a position where it subsequently achieved an S&P rating upgrade to A+ and was recognised as the Australian Banking & Finance Financial Institution of the Year in 2012 and 2013.

David holds qualifications of Bachelor of Applied Science, Master of Business Administration and is a Senior Fellow of FINSIA and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

David currently serves as a non-executive director on the Boards of Thorn Group Limited (ASX:TGA), Kina Securities Limited (ASX:KSL), Genworth Mortgage Insurance Australia Limited (ASX:GMA) and Motorcycle Holdings Limited (ASX:MTO).

David is a member of G8 Education’s Audit and Risk Management Committee and member of the Nomination Committee.