What is NQF – National Quality Framework?

The NQF is a jointly governed uniform national approach to the regulation and quality assessment of education and care services, including a national legislative framework, consisting of the National Law and National Regulations; the National Quality Standard; and an Assessment and Rating system.

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a national benchmark for ECEC services. It includes seven Quality Areas:
1. Educational program and practice
2. Children’s health and safety
3. Physical environment
4. Staffing arrangements
5. Relationships with children
6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
7. Governance and leadership

Child care services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS. They are given a rating for each of the seven Quality Areas and an overall rating based on these results.

NQS ratings include:
Significant Improvement required
Working Towards National Quality Standard
Meeting National Quality Standard
Exceeding National Quality Standard

Back to glossary